Menu Close

Assembly Business Committee

1. Hon. David Mbaya John- Chairperson
2. Hon. Nduyo Susan Ngugi.
3. Hon. Godfrey Murithi
4. Hon. Wison Nyaga
5. Hon. Margeret Gitari
6. Hon. Erastus Kinya
7. Hon. Gitonga Leonard
8. Hon. Bernard Mutegi.

The Assembly Business Committee shall

(a) Prepare and , if necessary, from time to time adjust the Assembly Calendar with the approval of the Assembly.

(b) Monitor and oversee the implementation of the Assembly Business and programmes.

(c) Implement the Standing Orders respecting the scheduling or programming of the business of the Assembly and the functioning of the Committees of the Assembly.

(d) Determine the order in which the reports of Committees shall be debated in the Assembly.

(e) May take decisions and issue directives and guidelines to prioritize or postpone any business of the Assembly acting with the concurrence of the Leader of the Majority Party or the Leader of the Minority Party, as the case may be; and,


(f) Consider such matters as may from time to time arise in connection with the business of the Assembly and shall have and perform such powers and functions as are conferred on and ascribed to it by these Standing Orders or from time to time by the Assembly.

  • If, for any reason, a member of the Assembly Business Committee is unable to attend, the Leader in the Assembly of the party which nominated that Member may appoint another Member in that Member’s place for the period for which the Member is unable to attend.
  • Unless, the Business Committee otherwise resolves, meetings of the Committee shall be held in camera